iPad neck will not deter me

This thing is pretty sweet…

So both Fisher the Swisher and I got our iPads this week, and although I haven’t had a chance to talk to him about his experience so far, mine has been mixed. Now be forewarned, this isn’t your typical mixed review where I say stuff like “the interface is beautiful and snappy but I wish adobe flash was supported.”. If you want that, read one of the billion tech blogs out there.

Instead, I want to talk about my emotional and physical health since I purchased my iPad. Let’s start with the good news – emotional health. My iPad makes me happy, and I can say that this is it’s most tangible use. Lots of people ask me why I purchased it… What do I intend to use it for? I guess I feel like those people just don’t get it. I’m laying in my bed right now watching the masters and blogging. Could I have used my laptop for this? Of course. Would I be? Probably not. The iPad isn’t at all about what you can do – it’s how you do it. I love the little pitted patter that my fingers make on the screen. I love swiping around on the screen just to see what happens. The iPad just makes me smile.

However, my physical health hasn’t been quite so glowing. Specifically, I have developed a nasty case of iPad neck. Seriously. Since most of the time sent with the device is looking down, ergonomically, I haven’t figured out the best way to use it. The result has been an absurdly stiff neck- like Frankenstein stiff.

I see this story ending one of three ways. Perhaps I figure a new way to hold my new toy that is more conducive .to my natural posture. Maybe I remain stiff necked forever, and I will tell my children’s children about the old days when I could turn my head from left to right. My hope, though, is that I develop superhuman neck strength, and that future P.J. will look as if his shoulders are connected directly to his ears. Kinda like this guy…

3 responses to “iPad neck will not deter me

  1. Denis from Texas

    Me too! I thought I was the only one, but I did a search for “iPad neck” and found your post . . . and I too use to love it for the way it works . . but ouch! Guess I’ll have to figure out some new neck exercises.

  2. Pingback: iPad Neck – Ouch! « IT Business Reviews

  3. I may have iPad neck too. I got my iPad in August and in mid-Sept. I began to have neck pain like a stiff neck that wouldn’t go away. The symptoms made me think it was a reaction to a new medication that I really need. I discontinued the medication, pain went away; I began a new similar medication and pain returned. I have become addicted to solitaire on my iPad, playing it through the winter, maybe 2-3 hours a day. I am undergoing some expensive tests now as I have had cancer. I hate to give it up but may have to.

Leave a Reply

